Re: Mare in late pregnancy - with laminitis - new board member

Ozhorse Emma

Hi

Thanks for the replies and links.  I will do a case history.

I have been reading a bit since the first post.  I have found very few references to pregnancy toxaemia in horses.  I am a sheep and cattle farmer and we have to be very careful with cows and ewes getting this condition when they are fat in late pregnancy so I carried this concern to the horse.  Once set off it is a horrible and difficult condition to treat and often ends up in slow death. Fortunately it appears not to be common in horses so I can calm down a bit about that.

I live in the Snowy Mountains, near Cooma.  It is not a hay growing area apart from Lucerne, so hay is trucked in from a long way away.  I can get feed in bags from the produce store, it is the hay that is problematic.

The hay I have on hand is WHEAT (worse I think than oat).  It has unripe heads with little seed.  It is very yellow, no green at all.  The alfalfa is very green with fine leaf.  I have an 8ft bale of each.  My hay supplier has no other and is not getting any other until next year. 

Does it matter if I soak the hay for 12 hours instead of 1 hour?

I am not 100% she is in foal and, no, vet has not checked her.  But she is big, and her udder is starting to swell up quickly and change daily.  I have a Wee foal checker preg test kit but did not use it because I thought it was fairly self-evident.  If IR makes a mare go from no udder at all, to a rapidly changing one in a few weeks then it is theoretically possible she is not in foal.  My guess is she will foal in the next few weeks. 

She has had about 4 previous times in the last 7 years when she got foot sore and I locked her up.  I gave her Maxisoy and or Speedibeet and wheat or oat chaff with some Lucerne hay.  I limited the quantity of food then, which I do not feel I can now she is close to foaling.