Polycystic Ovary Syndrome and Laminitis

Julia Cunniffe

Hello Everyone,

I have just joined the group and not yet had chance to read thru the previous conversations, so I apologise if this information is already here.

I have a miniature Shetland with EMS who I have been managing for several years, and on the whole is well and happy. I hope to find more information on improving his management when i read thru the information on this group.

My current concern tho is my 10 year old Selle Francais Mare, Jazz, who I have recently been told has Laminitis. I am still not totally convinced by the diagnosis, and I'm afraid I don't have a lot of faith in my vets, who have little interest in metabolic issues. 

Jazz has had intermittent lameness for over a month now. It has varied from looking footy, to shouldery, but has consistently been the right fore. She is rather a challenging character, having been an orphan, and lives out on a track, with a 4 year old gelding, around the track of my 2 mini's. Atm the track is deep in mud, wet and slippery, but since the Laminitis diagnosis I have not felt able to allow them on the grass of the other field, which is how I would normally manage them at this time of year.

During the summer months Jazz has bulges over her eyes and swelling between her jaw. She had a very muscular crest this year having been doing a lot of Straightness Training, and on the whole looked quite large, not helped by her low slung belly, but does not generally have other fat pads. I have erred towards assuming she is likely to be predisposed to Metabolic problems and managed her on a low sugar diet, lots of hay, minimal grass when sugars likely to be high, low sugar feeds, and on the track. She has never had any episodes of laminitis previously, has had event-lines on her hooves corresponding to those of my previous gelding who also did not experience laminitis, and has always been barefoot.