New member in New Mexico ..... basic help/questions - thank you!

Sharon@...

Hi there from New Mexico! My 14 year old mare was diagnosed with laminitis & Cushings this past month. I’m thankful to have found this group;I have no experience with either issue. I am not sure if this is the right group for laminitis questions, but will include this information in my post. 

I started noticing this year that she was resistant to being ridden, which she has never previously been. I ride often rocky and sometimes steep trails. Even after getting Cavallo boots for riding (I pulled her shoes in the beginning of the year) and a new nicer fitting saddle she wasn’t happy about being ridden. And then in mid-September (about 1.5 mos ago), after going on a steep smooth downhill part of a trail she was very choppy/short strided in her front. As well, she still likes to avoid some rocks while riding. So I took her to the local vet and he took x-rays and did the cushings/insulin tests. Her diagnosis: low-grade, early stage laminitis and Cushings. Solution: good barefoot trims every 4-6 weeks, and Prascend 1 mg/day. 

Here are my Questions:

1) I am not sure this diagnosis of Cushings is correct. My nutritionist wanted me to investigate. It was done Nov 1. Should I get her bloodwork done again? Do I keep her on Prascend?

2) Can I still ride her - how do I know? I can use padded boots (or no padding - the Cavallo boot brand padding isn’t much)? Do the trails need to be soft footing (no rocks) and no inclines/declines? 

3) Her diet: