Got some questions

KC

Hi, I'm new to this group. I have been on the barefoothorsecare group looking for some advice on my horse
and a few of them lead me here. My horse is barefoot and has been for 6 years. This year I started riding with
a riding club. The last couple of rides we did that involved gravel roads especially the last ride I did 2 weeks ago,
she became tender footed on the gravel roads only. I became concern because she never had any issues with being
able to walk on gravel. I talked to my farrier and he came out to look at her. We are still puzzled by it. She had a
little bit of separation around the hoof wall on one part of her front right foot but basically nothing else.
She did have a "little red rings" on her front feet which my farrier said was a sign of a sugar overload. We have had
a lot of rain from end of June into August. So its possible the extra sugar in the grass could be causing the
sensitivity. I don't believe she is IR but maybe in the realm of laminitis which she has never had before. She is basically
a healthy horse except for the sensitivity in her feet. I'm taking this as a warning sign that I need to change my ways
in feeding her to prevent it from turning into something worse.

So here is my questions, I understand that I need to get my hay and pasture analyzed to know what she is getting or not
so I can adjust her diet. When it comes to testing the hay, if the hay is from the same source, is there a difference between
1st cutting and 2nd cutting and do I need to have both tested? Also, do I need to have it tested every year if its from the same
source? As for the pasture, does it make a difference on what part of the year its tested and if it needs to be tested at different
times thru the year?