New to group

genae kindscher

Hi Everyone, I am totally new to the idea that my horse might have IR or cushings. I have instead been thinking she has PSSM possibly type 2 since she was negative for 1. I have been following that diet and using those supplements with some results. The two symptoms that did not fit were swollen hard nipples and high levels of testosterone. My vet did not think those were anything to worry about. We ruled out the tumors that mares get but I did just draw blood again to double check. He only wanted to focus on front feet and says she has navicular. 

Her other symptoms are goes dead lame and then recovers fairly quickly, and then back lame again. Muscle spasms, constantly was in heat and was causing the other mares to go in heat before I put her on Regumate. She has no other signs of cushings that I can tell, she is only 8 years old though. 

I had hair mineral analysis done and that is what confirmed my suspicion that IR or cusings was possible. She is very high in iron and aluminum and Lithium, very low in sodium, potassium, calcium and magnesium, also selenium. 

A few symptoms she has don't fit anywhere it seems, her forehead is large, the temporal area she cannot tolerate browband of bridle. It also seems as though her head swells cause sometimes her halter will be really tight and other times really loose. She also can't handle the saddle which would fit more with pssm not IR, or at least in my thinking. 

I am not really sure which step to take next, the first vet thinks I am nuts for trying to find something wrong with her. The other vet scracthed his head when I told  him what was going on. I have bascially been on my own trying to figure out what is wrong with her and spending a fortune. Appreciate any comments might help me make some decisons. 

Lavinia Fiscaletti

HI,