Leptin

Just got faxed a friend's horse's blood test results.  I told her she needed to do ACTH, Insulin, Glucose and Leptin.  The ACTH came back at 241 pg/mL, but the Leptin came back at <1 ng/mL and Glucose was done at the vet's clinic and it came back as <10 mg/dL and their range is 60-125 mg/dL.  As far as I know no insulin was done so I asked her to ask the vet.  These tests were done at Cornell.  We know this horse is Cushings but he is a thoroughbred so could these low results be correct?

Jean and Amber
in VERY HOT South Carolina
August 2004

Kerry Isherwood

Hi,

I'm a licensed vet tech and let's just say, handle *lots* of blood, incl my own two IRs & one PPID.  I send to Cornell at least 2x/month.  I can offer a bit of insight:

....."Glucose was done at the vet's clinic and it came back as <10 mg/dL and their range is 60-125 mg/dL."....