Climbing ACTH numbers

Sue Ring

I'm relatively new to treating my PPID horse, Shifty, diagnosed in 3/2021.  His numbers at diagnosis were Insulin 22.51 and ACTH Pre:  28 and Post:  328.  He was started on 1 ml Pergolide and has been on that since (approx 2 mos).  He also has ERU, which was diagnosed last Fall (pre PPID diagnosis) and treated into remission with diclofenac and neo-poly-dex.  He was weaned off of the neo and diclofanec until beginning of June, when a check up revealed his ERU was flaring again.  Went back on diclofenac and neo 2X daily and when I advised vet he was diagnosed PPID, she said that the neo was a small amount, going directly into his eyes (he has posterior uveitis in both eyes), it would be okay.  I had his blood re-checked for Pergolide effectiveness on June 11 and his numbers came back astronomic.....I don't have the results copy from my vet yet but was told over the phone they were something like Insulin DOWN (17) but ACTH was a whopper, in the 500's.

I am dealing with two vets here.  We are in a small rural community with a VERY high concentration of horses and a LARGE, internationally known Equestrian Center....so we have it all.  PLENTY of access to quality care for our horses in a peaceful, rural setting.  The vet handling the PPID diagnosis is my farm vet and knows my horse well.  The vet handling the ERU is at the local equine hospital because they have more equipment to diagnose and examine horses with ocular problems such as ERU.  The vet handling the PPID has recommended that I start a cypro/Pergolide compound she uses to get the ACTH numbers down.  I have asked her about the possibility of the neo-poly-dex spiking his numbers, but have not heard back yet.